Programming Warm Up

In software development, productivity is all about getting in the Zone. When You are in the Zone, you are one with the code and writing software is easy as typing. When you are not, a whole day can pass without doing much work because thinking is just so hard.

One of the things I do to get myself into the zone are little “warm up” sessions before I start to code features that are hard for me to approach. I choose small problems that I particularly enjoy as warmups. Little treats, you might say. For example, I may start programming a feature by refactoring some remotely relevant code, commenting on legacy code around it or focusing on a small part of the feature that seems interesting.

To the outside viewer (a.k.a my boss when I was a developer) it may appear as though I’m wasting time on things that are not the core of my work – “We have no time to invest in code refactoring right now, we should ship this feature”, but I argue that this time is not spent but invested in making the development faster, and that the time it takes to develop the feature after investing it is much shorter.

Think about it – in many other areas of our life, the concept of warm up is very prevalent. Athletes warm up before an exercise to make it more effective and less dangerous. Singers warm up their vocal chords and musicians warm up their fingers before a show, and when I took an animation course, we were taught to start every day with a several minutes quicksketching session to get our creative juices flowing.

Why should programming be different?

Concentration and focus is a problem of acceleration and when you try to move from 0 to 100 kmph you should take the car that gives you the largest boost at the shortest time, and this is what programming warm up is all about.

Leave a Reply

